From Saint-Jean-Baptiste to the last sunday of august : Wednesday to Sunday, 1 to 5 p.m.
Week-ends of Labour Day, Journées de la culture and Thanksgiving from 1 to 5 p.m.
To discover, see and do...
The Purification-de-la-Bienheureuse-Vierge-Marie church was declared a historic monument on March 23, 1978 – exactly 300 years after the Seigniory’s first church was built, to the west of Repentigny, on the seigniorial estate. A wooden church was first erected on the current site in 1703, followed by a stone church dating from 1723; today’s church stands atop the remains of the second church.
This is the oldest church in the Montreal diocese. Its cemetery, like those of churches on the Île d'Orléans and only a few other churches in Quebec, adjoins the church.
A fire on October 12, 1984, damaged the interior, but most of the decorations were saved.
Despite the damage caused by the fire, and in view of its long history, the Repentigny church remains one of the finest in the Montreal diocese.
- National historic site (Canada)
- Historic monument (Quebec)
- Historic site (Quebec)
Activities or attractions nearby
The church is located on the Chemin du Roy (King’s Road), alongside the St. Lawrence River. Visitors can also stroll along the waterside in the Île Lebel park, across the way, and enjoy three historical walking tours.
Two local windmills are still standing; one of them, the Grenier mill, is open to the public.
Guided tours: French, English
- Gift shop
- Customized activities (specific groups)
- Hours adapted to groups
- Parking (buses)
Self-guided tours: 300 people
Guided tours: 50 people
Number of sites to visit: 1 church